To the Millennials, us

  

Lately, I was so hesitant to view my social networks, read feeds or even check notifications. I know for a fact that I was greatly disappointed with the latest news that rang over the mainstream.  Yes, that rainbow flag country as they describe it. 

But after my devotion today, I realized that God is real. And so is sin.

I just came from work today, sleepy, tired yet trying to gain that perspective to pursue the day. So on my way, I prayed and asked God to release me from this distress. 

 While reading John Piper’s Seeing and Savoring Jesus Christ, I whispered to myself a wow upon realizing how God hated sin, yet love men, us specifically.

So the spies questioned him: “Teacher, we know that you speak and teach what is right, and that you do not show partiality but teach the way of God in accordance with the truth-Luke 20:21

I came across the words partiality and truth. In my entire writer life, I have never written those words in one sentence, thinking that they can never go together. Logic says True + True = True and True + False = False. How about False + False? 

This world dictated that whatever is False can be True after all. What values taught us to be wrong can be right after all. Well, tolerated. 

 Will it still be called a compromise when everyone is compromising? Will it still be wrong if everyone is into it?

The trend will dictate that this life can never be called life enough if it’s just plain as it is. We created a new set of standards for this life to be enough worth living. Is this how we want our generation to be? Is this what they called us Millennials? Are we really they? 

Millennials, also known as Generation Y or the Net Generation, are the demographic cohort that directly follows Generation X. Overall, the earliest proposed birthdate for Millennials is 1976 and the latest 2004. 

 According to the press, Millennials grew up in an electronics-filled and increasingly online and socially-networked world. They are the generation that has received the most marketing attention. As the most ethnically diverse generation, Millennials tend to be tolerant of difference. Having been raised under the mantra “follow your dreams” and being told they were special, they tend to be confident. While largely a positive trait, the Millennial generation’s confidence has been argued to spill over into the realms of entitlement and narcissism.  They are often seen as slightly more optimistic about the future of America than other generations — despite the fact that they are the first generation since the Silent Generation that is expected to be less economically successful than their parents. 

We are the most studied generation yet happened to be on the line of being the worst, as things gets worse to worst.

I tried comprehend if it will be ever easy to drive a country. I died by just observing my surroundings.

The world has become an internet of things. Millennials have agreed to same-sex marriage.  Teens are exposed to sexting. We live with a perspective that open-mindedness can save. 

Sigh. Forgive me. But I really struggled thinking of such. How we chose to live a life totally different to what it was purposed for. How we then created the world we live today. How we questioned life and then distorted it. 

When I told myself to shut. And just trust and hope to the One who legally and lawfully created us by love.

Life is a never ending conflict. It is an ongoing battle which we face everyday. If we won’t decide to fight every battle with Jesus, we would fail and fall. 

 When Jesus took the Cross, He chose life over death. He did that for us to experience life. For us to live. For us to know that there is still hope.

And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us. -Romans 5:5

He was thinking of us. He could have stabbed anyone there or called the heavens to punish human race but He chose to use His one and only weapon: Love. As His blood shed on the Cross, people were set free. We were set free. Jesus has won it all.  It is His blood that ransomed us from all of our sins and that restored our broken image. 

Will Jesus died for us just to be crippled by pain? No, He died so we can experience freedom.  So I can spread His unashamed love. His life and even his death is not a fairy tale. It is a story of the greatest battle of all. It’s the very message of our purpose and life. 

May we be reminded of His outrageous grace as He is the reason of all the things that we pursuit in this life.

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. -Romans 5:7-8

So many phrases ran in my head with words like what if, if ever, how could, and all. Trying to justify the thoughts I have when I felt like I dozed on my way home. Thinking can be really tiring indeed. Is this really life as it should be?

As soon as I got into my destination, it was like waking up when I heard a voice asking me, “What life?” 

The Bible may have not started with the words ‘Once upon a time’ or ended with the words ‘Happily ever after’ but the most powerful words were thrown during Genesis when God created the heavens and the earth and when He ended the Holy Word with ‘Amen’ above all else.

Not only is this so, but we also boast in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation. -Romans 5:11

Leave a Reply

