Am I a writer?

20140312-125436.jpg

Given a two month break as a real life journalist in the country’s oldest newspaper, I thank God for this opportunity to relish the print life once more and have a glimpse of that fearless press freedom.

Since 2013, my heart was earnestly asking God one prayer. He knew my only desire.

“Show me Your glory,” day and night I cried out.

Last night, a friend reminded me not to lose the personal dreams God placed in my heart. I felt relief to be understood.

Seeing how God prospers my family and my friends, there was no greater joy than to be granted with answered prayers. Miracles, I must say.

And honestly, a part of my own seeks for the same. “How about me, God? How about my life?”

I never felt that God left me. I just knew He was silent a lot of times, which divinely tested my patience.

Today, a question struck me.

“Why do you want to be a journalist, Monique?” My mentor asked.

For almost five to six years of journalism experience, I knew the answers my professor wanted to hear.

Three things:
The glory of a by-line
Being the first to know
To inform and educate

Yes. Every writer knows the perks, gets the perks and enjoys the perks. If you are in our profession, you might wonder how journalists survive with such compensation, the libels and threats and still live.

I saw how this world can be deadly by choice and by demand. With all the crimes jotted down daily, the issues discussed in hearings, unworthy bills passed and trending news swarmed with, I can easily think why this world has become a rotating ball of deception.

With the kind of wretched system we have, the meaning of simplicity got messed up; beauty got damaged; and peace got understated.

Writers are real life paper and pen who are expected to keep a track of the whereabouts of this world’s issue. We are called to be the fourth estate of the government, the watchdog of the society.

But as I aged in numbers, I realized that publishing was never enough. It’s seeing through the print for the sake of the readers, the mass. It’s more than educating them. It’s becoming the voice of truth.

To enjoy was never the term to describe this field. To endure was, actually. Endurance from all the stress, pressures and issues. Not just on your life, but on the happenings of the most.

Upon answering my mentor’s inquiry, I took a deep breath and said, “I write to stand in the gap.”

No assurance if she’d understand or get what I meant.

I just knew that it is no longer with ink and paper I write but with the Spirit of God on the tablet of the hearts of men.

You yourselves are our letter, written on our hearts, known and read by everyone, revealing that you are a letter of Christ, delivered by us, written not with ink but by the Spirit of the living God, not on stone tablets but on tablets of human hearts.
-2 Corinthians 3:2-3

Leave a Reply

