Breathe

20130717-001348.jpg

This is the air I breathe
This is the air I breathe
Your Holy presence living in me

This is my daily bread
This is my daily bread
Your very word spoken to me

And I I’m desperate for You
And I I’m I’m lost without You

-Breathe by Michael Smith

Desperate.

I have never appreciated breathing more than today. I woke up too early after feeling my lungs barely breathing. My body was still longing for sleep but my lungs were fighting me back. It’s shouting for air! I was trying my best to inhale and exhale but it wasn’t enough. My lungs felt chains wrapped around itself. And for a moment, I felt the air was getting limited. Oh no!

Breathe. Deep breaths. Deeper were those.

This time I’m getting weaker. Sleepy and tired. Desperate for rest, and air. Water! Please!

Calm down. Breathe in. Breathe out. Calm down.

I’ve been having tough nights lately. Tougher than the usual. I couldn’t sleep. I thought it was my no head pillow attitude, my sleeping position or maybe my less productive life. But no… I was almost rolling around my bed just to get the fit. I even tried reading all night.

Yes. I was lying already on my bed. I was sleepy. Very sleepy, in fact. But I still couldn’t bid good night to my conscious mind. I still hear my heart palpitating. Till I felt my lungs. They’re tired too, but weaker.

I woke around brunch with the same dilemma. Air! I need air..

I texted my doctor to seek for help. I wasn’t just irritated due to less sleep. I was so frustrated to breathe. My chest was painful. Then the tears. I couldn’t help it. AIR! PLEASE!

Honestly, I’m becoming more frustrated. I just couldn’t contain the thought that I’m losing God’s first gift to human, air.

“Then the LORD God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.”
-Genesis 2:7

When I was praying, He reminded me that He first breathed on us to have life. And I was on those thoughts. I was begging God for air.

Breathe on me, Lord. Please..

I was amazed how God revealed to me the message of the song Breathe by Michael Smith. To use words ‘desperate’ and ‘lost’ in a worship song really meant total dependence to the Creator. This song was lingering on my mind whole day. And I felt the lyrics. The singer was so desperate to God that he compared God to the air.

I realized how Science was true when they theorized that air is the ultimate source of life. No living thing can survive without air. This also makes sense why Earth is the only planet considered to cater life. It’s the only living planet with the considerable oxygen any human being need to live.

Imagine. Life without air. What would happen to earth? Let’s make it simpler, what would happen to us? We would definitely cry unto God desperately! Plead for mercy. For just a breath to live.

When will I catch myself desperate to God? To His Word?
When will I find myself desperate for His presence? For His Word?
Can I boldly say I’m lost without Jesus?
Can I boldly sing I’m lost without His Word in my life?

I recalled the Valley of Dry Bones preached during one of our youth services. God gave breath to the dry bones for them to live. Take note: those were already dead. Yet, that’s how powerful God is. Just through words given to Ezekiel, life came about.

He said to me, “Prophesy to the breath. Prophesy, son of man. Tell the breath, ‘God, the Master, says, Come from the four winds. Come, breath. Breathe on these slain bodies. Breathe life!’”
-Ezekiel 37:9

I was so reminded. I was crying for air. My lungs were begging for even a pinch of air. But what if more than my plea for air to breathe, God never breathed on me to have life in the first place?

If we would just believe that Jesus is the air we breathe, we might not forget to read His Word and live according to His commands. We would die without air! We would die without Jesus, without His Word!

Before I end tonight, I prayed by faith. I need Jesus more than air for He is the air I breathe, my source of life. Heal me, Lord. I receive Your Word.

The Spirit of God has made me; the breath of the Almighty gives me life.
-Job 33:4

Leave a Reply

