In Christ, I Can

20121018-010612.jpg

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.
-Colossians 3:23

Learned. Blessed. Loved.

Last night, I had one of the coolest and most encouraging talk with my cell group leader Ree Soria.

I longed to talk to her. Last few months, both of us were consumed by our pre-occupied schedules. She had her mission trips, True Love Wait ministry, Purity talk and church activities. I, on the other hand, had classes, article beats, sports coverages and interviews.

I knew I had to grab that accountability time despite meeting her late eve. Still, pursuing our chat was worth it.

I had the opportunity to share my current struggles at school, home and even heart issues. Though time was limited (since it was really late), I was able to tackle stories about my recent suspension at school. It was the main concern actually. I had difficulty arranging and organizing my thoughts in preparing my appeal. I opened my heart to Te Ree and told her that I fear for another fiasco in my household, especially with my parents.

So, she gave me all the time to talk and summarize everything. How it started, why it happened, and the like.

In the middle of the conversation, she asked me one thing.

“So how will you write your Appeal?”

I answered five thoughts.

1. Tell them that I am not directly involved.
2. I would never ridicule anyone through my writings.
3. The sanction should not be taken as a pool.
4. I have morals. My family raised me with values.
5. I am a Christian. Putting people in shame is never a part of me.

I boldly told my leader my reasons why I am not worth of receiving the sanction. I was not emotional but I knew in myself that as a writer I am entitled to defend myself from cases wherein I have no participation with.

Te Ree just nodded. For a moment, I thought she didn’t understand my point. Then she spoke.

“Let me recall everything you said. If I were in the position of the complainant and I read your appeal, I would choose not to finish it. Why? It’s not an appeal. Though your composition may vary with the type of words you use and with the punctuation marks, I will still not read it fully. You are just merely defending yourself. I don’t need your defense. I need your apologies.”

“Nique, if you want your appeal to be accepted, acknowledged and affirmed, you have to humble down yourself. This might not be a clear assurance. But an appeal is written with pardon. You are asking pardon from whatever pain, bruise or wound the publication did. Pray for the right words.”

“I understand that you are just being true to yourself that you have not contributed to the articles claimed to be obscene and disrespectful, but think of the situation of the offended. How did he feel after reading such content? There are people who take their reputations and images highly regarded, that when these are stained the only way for them to forgive is when the offenders are sanctioned.”

After hearing her words, I felt ashamed. I never thought of adding any sorry in my appeal. I don’t even had the idea of saying one since I knew in myself that I have not done anything wrong.

Still, her advice was right. What if I was the crowd’s laughing stock that time? Will I need explanations?

I realized that humility must always be a part not only of my vocabulary but also of my heart, my whole. As writers, we were trained to fight back against people who treat our articles with wrong perceptions or who stand at the wrong point of view. Also, we believe in the credibility of the paper. So instead of apologizing, we just let it fly with the trends and forget about it.

However, I learned that a Christian Journalist is far different from a blogger, writer, reporter, broadcaster and correspondent of this world. God’s writers don’t compromise with the world’s standards. They only follow God and write for His glory. They don’t care if it will be trending to the readers but they just pursue in sharing the love of Christ and His gospel.

They write not to represent themselves but to uplift the Name of their Master. Their inks and pens are not meant to put people in shame, but to encourage everyone and to give light in this dark and weary world. They write not to impress but to please their Savior. They write because they love God. They write for they are inspired by God.

I was reminded that time. I have been writing for more than three years and I never knew that my passion for writing will be accessed by the Lord. I got used to the formal journalism way of news writing I was no longer considering if my articles are God-glorifying.

“You were blessed with that talent. God gave that to you because it is your mission field. He wants you to use that for Him and not for anyone. So use it mightily for His fame alone,” she ended.

Indeed, our Lord is not just an ordinary God. He is extraordinary and perfect. The challenge is in every act, speech, and thought, we must aim to glorify Him extraordinarily.

I know it’s never an overnight overhaul. But, through Christ, I know I can and I will.

In all simple daily things that we do, it is a call for us Christians to magnify our Lord always.

By heart and by soul, I will tweet and retweet, write and compose, report and interview for God’s glory.

Learned. Blessed. Loved.

I thank my God for giving me sisters in Christ who are devoted in His Ministry to spread His Word and encourage souls like me.

One thought on “In Christ, I Can

Leave a Reply

