When the heart rests

20121003-010045.jpg

Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.
-Isaiah 40:30-31

October 1, 2012, I found love outside Manila. I found rest in the beauty of His Creation. ❀

Everyone knows that I have stuffs to do, errands to comply, work to pursue, deadlines to meet and exams to prepare. Yet out of the heart’s desire, I realized that it yearned for rest, for a break, for a treat.

How does one show love to oneself? Reward it by material things? Eat out? Laugh aloud its mistakes? How?

Lately, I’ve been studying how to make myself smile and be satisfied even without trying hard. I asked myself basic questions and tested if I could answer them confidently. Some of them are the following:

1. When did I last treat myself?
2. What do I do whenever alone?
3. Who is my greatest inspiration?
4. How do I handle stress?
5. Where do I spend most of my time?

It took me a long time to answer number 4. Laugh. Well, I have difficulties handling stress, personally. I just don’t let people see that I am stressed, and that makes it more stressful – to keep the stress within.

Last Monday, I received a very good reminder. I asked my friend about his activities and he answered: Eat, pray, love, do his stuffs and sleep. πŸ™‚

It inspired me after reading the SMS. In my entire life, I have never thought such simple answers to make a day complete. Normally, when asked, I would answer back a detailed list of routines or show my calendar as if my sched is always flooded with commitments.

Honestly, his text message was a big slap on my face. I learned that it is not a matter of how many tasks one has in line for the day but of how the heart responds in all of those schedules. I felt that I was proud and that my friend was humble. He lived a simple life. He may worry how to overcome life but he knows that by starting a day right, God is faithful to provide. As for me, I was so focused on how I will please this life, less thinking if it’s what God wants me to fulfill.

That day I was grateful to have a chance to reflect. I was finding time for myself when I took the opportunity to lay my day down to the Lord. No worries, only but to think of Him. It reminded myself that indeed God wants me to rest in His presence. Grateful, I had it to the fullest πŸ™‚

20121003-020836.jpg

I was so encouraged. Thanks, Lord. You really never fail my heart. πŸ™‚

Indeed, we must never fail to rest in God’s love and sit in His feet to listen to His Word. In His presence, there is peace, strength, hope and joy.

Be amazed in the beauty of His grace and love.

By the way, I was blessed with an Asian beauty partner, enjoyed the Los BaΓ±os tour as I reflected the greatness of our Creator. Thanks, Eden! Great way to start our October journey. God keep blessing your heart. Remember, let God write our love story. πŸ™‚

20121003-010239.jpg

Leave a Reply

